Administrative & public

Administrative and public law is one of Monckton’s core specialisms, and is an area in which we have long had a strong reputation for both wide-ranging and in-depth expertise. Regardless of the complexity of a particular public law dispute, Monckton Chambers has an array of market leading practitioners at all levels of seniority able to assist. Our members’ rare blend of experience means we are equally sought after in connection with judicial review claims in the commercial regulatory sphere as in respect of high–profile public interest and civil liberties challenges.

‘Administrative and public law’ is a broad practice area, within which our specific areas of expertise include:

Legal issues arising in the context of public law disputes are often cross-cutting, involving diverse other areas of law. Our public law expertise overlaps with practice areas including:

Our practitioners undertake work on behalf of both claimants and defendants, offering the exceptional quality of service our clients have come to expect. Members act for individuals, families, NGOs and charities, companies, regulators and local authorities to ensure their rights are upheld and their interests protected. A large number of our members are appointed to the Attorney General’s ‘A’, ‘B’, ‘C’ and ‘PIL’ Panel of Counsel, from which they represent clients including Secretaries of State and central government agencies in challenges to their decisions (click here to see panel members).

We offer broad experience in judicial review challenges before not only the Administrative Court but also other specialist courts and tribunals such as the Competition Appeal Tribunal and the Information Tribunal. Our members appear in domestic and international courts, at every level of the court and tribunal system.

Monckton is committed to publicly funded work as well as that which is privately paid, and many members work pro bono on public interest litigation. We are regularly instructed in urgent matters including claims requiring applications for interim relief.


Contact the Clerks

Contact the Clerks

"*" indicates required fields

Drop files here or
Accepted file types: doc, docx, pdf, png, jpg, jpeg, Max. file size: 5 MB, Max. files: 8.
    This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


    Administrative & public barristers

    Tim Ward KC
    Call: 1994  | Silk: 2011
    Philip Moser KC
    Call: 1992  | Silk: 2012
    Lord Bellamy KC
    Call: 1968  | Silk: 1986
    Christopher Vajda KC
    Call: 1979  | Silk: 1997
    Michael Bowsher KC
    Call: 1985  | Silk: 2006
    Jon Turner KC
    Call: 1988  | Silk: 2006
    Ian Wise KC
    Call: 1992  | Silk: 2010
    Paul Harris KC
    Call: 1994  | Silk: 2011
    Daniel Beard KC
    Call: 1996  | Silk: 2011
    Kassie Smith KC
    Call: 1995  | Silk: 2013
    Ian Rogers KC
    Call: 1995  | Silk: 2014
    George Peretz KC
    Call: 1990  | Silk: 2015
    Meredith Pickford KC
    Call: 1999  | Silk: 2015
    Gerry Facenna KC
    Call: 2001  | Silk: 2016
    Josh Holmes KC
    Call: 1997  | Silk: 2017
    Robert Palmer KC
    Call: 1998  | Silk: 2019
    Ronit Kreisberger KC
    Call: 1999  | Silk: 2019
    Valentina Sloane KC
    Call: 2000  | Silk: 2019
    Anneli Howard KC
    Call: 2002  | Silk: 2021
    Ben Lask KC
    Call: 2003  | Silk: 2023
    Brendan McGurk KC
    Call: 2004  | Silk: 2024
    Philip Woolfe KC
    Call: 2004  | Silk: 2024
    Ewan West KC
    Call: 2006  | Silk: 2024
    Andrew Macnab
    Call: 1986
    Ben Rayment
    Call: 1996
    Eric Metcalfe
    Call: 1999
    Piers Gardner
    Call: 2000
    Julian Gregory
    Call: 2000
    Alan Bates
    Call: 2003
    Drew Holiner
    Call: 2005
    Fiona Banks
    Call: 2006
    Jonathan Lewis
    Call: 2007
    Ligia Osepciu
    Call: 2008
    Conor McCarthy
    Call: 2010
    Stefan Kuppen
    Call: 2013
    David Gregory
    Call: 2014
    James Bourke
    Call: 2014
    Jack Williams
    Call: 2015
    Imogen Proud
    Call: 2015
    Ciar McAndrew
    Call: 2016
    Jen Coyne
    Call: 2016
    Harry Gillow
    Call: 2017
    Will Perry
    Call: 2018
    Alfred Artley
    Call: 2018
    Jenn Lawrence
    Call: 2021
    Natalie Nguyen
    Call: 2021
    Hugh Whelan
    Call: 2022
    Luke Kelly
    Call: 2022
    Jeremy McBride
    Call: 2004