Commercial & regulatory JR

Judicial review with a commercial or regulatory element is at the heart of Monckton’s Administrative and Public law specialism. The rare combination of commercial and public law expertise on offer at Monckton means our members have a leading reputation and act in the most complex and high-profile challenges.

Our members accept instructions to provide advice and representation across the range of regulated sectors. They are regularly instructed in judicial reviews relating to:

Our practitioners work on behalf of both claimants and defendants, acting for companies, regulators and affected third parties to ensure their clients’ rights and interests are protected. A large number of our members are appointed to the Attorney General’s ‘A’, ‘B’, ‘C’ and ‘PIL’ Panel of Counsel, from which they represent clients including Secretaries of State and central government agencies in challenges to their decisions (click here to see panel members).

Members of this practice group are able to bring to their commercial and regulatory work their expertise in related areas of law including consumer law, competition, data protection, human rights, EU law and EU Relations law, public procurement, tax and duties.

Contact the Clerks

Contact the Clerks

"*" indicates required fields

Drop files here or
Accepted file types: doc, docx, pdf, png, jpg, jpeg, Max. file size: 5 MB, Max. files: 8.
    This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


    Commercial & regulatory JR barristers

    Tim Ward KC
    Call: 1994  | Silk: 2011
    Jon Turner KC
    Call: 1988  | Silk: 2006
    Daniel Beard KC
    Call: 1996  | Silk: 2011
    Kassie Smith KC
    Call: 1995  | Silk: 2013
    Gerry Facenna KC
    Call: 2001  | Silk: 2016
    Robert Palmer KC
    Call: 1998  | Silk: 2019
    Anneli Howard KC
    Call: 2002  | Silk: 2021
    Ben Lask KC
    Call: 2003  | Silk: 2023
    Brendan McGurk KC
    Call: 2004  | Silk: 2024
    Ewan West KC
    Call: 2006  | Silk: 2024
    Andrew Macnab
    Call: 1986
    Eric Metcalfe
    Call: 1999
    Piers Gardner
    Call: 2000
    Alan Bates
    Call: 2003
    Fiona Banks
    Call: 2006
    Conor McCarthy
    Call: 2010
    Stefan Kuppen
    Call: 2013
    James Bourke
    Call: 2014
    Jack Williams
    Call: 2015
    Imogen Proud
    Call: 2015
    Natalie Nguyen
    Call: 2021
    Hugh Whelan
    Call: 2022
    Luke Kelly
    Call: 2022