COVID-19: We remain fully operational, though working remotely. Read more »


Monckton Chambers has considerable expertise in the field of sports law and has particular strength in the fields of overlap between sports law and all aspects of commercial EU law, most notably competition law, freedom of movement and cross-border trading.

This experience sees members making regular appearances in all manner of specialist sports courts and tribunals. We also have unparalleled experience in sports disputes before the European Court of Justice, the General Court, the European Commission, the Competition and Markets Authority, as well as litigating regularly in the High Court and above.

Monckton Chambers serves a broad range of clients within the sports sector from national sports governing bodies, individual participants, clubs, agents and broadcasters.

Our areas of expertise include:

  • Agency
  • Breakaway leagues;
  • Broadcasting and licensing;
  • Contract
  • Corporate governance;
  • Corporate hospitality;
  • Data rights
  • Disciplinary procedures and hearings;
  • Discrimination between participants;
  • Dominance of governing bodies;
  • Doping and sanctions;
  • Funding;
  • Ground and TV advertising;
  • ‘Home Grown’ player requirements;
  • Image rights
  • Kit and equipment rules;
  • Kit supply and markings;
  • New competition entrants;
  • Passing off
  • Regulatory oversight;
  • Sponsorship;
  • State aid;
  • Ticketing; and
  • Transfers.

See individual barristers’ CVs for details of members’ recent and significant cases.

Members of Monckton Chambers belong to the British Association of Sport and the Law (BASL), of which one member is currently Deputy Chairman.

Contact the Clerks

Contact the Clerks

Drop files here or
Accepted file types: doc, docx, pdf, png, jpg, jpeg, Max. file size: 5 MB, Max. files: 8.
    This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


    Sport barristers

    Tim Ward QC
    Call: 1994  | Silk: 2011
    Sir Christopher Bellamy QC
    Call: 1968  | Silk: 1986
    Christopher Vajda QC
    Call: 1979  | Silk: 1997
    Paul Harris QC
    Call: 1994  | Silk: 2011
    Ian Rogers QC
    Call: 1995  | Silk: 2014
    Ronit Kreisberger QC
    Call: 1999  | Silk: 2019
    Anneli Howard QC
    Call: 2002  | Silk: 2021
    Ben Rayment
    Call: 1996
    Ben Lask
    Call: 2003
    Brendan McGurk
    Call: 2004
    Ewan West
    Call: 2006
    Fiona Banks
    Call: 2006
    William Hooper
    Call: 2014
    Jack Williams
    Call: 2015