International Arbitration

Monckton Chambers boasts considerable experience conducting arbitrations with the major arbitral institutions and rules including ICC, LCIA, CIArb, LMAA, UNCITRAL, HKIAC, SIAC, SCAI, ICSID and ICAC (Russia) Rules, as well as ad hoc arbitrations. Members have also acted in arbitrations around the world, notably South East Asia, South America, and across Europe.

We have been active not only in typical construction, commercial and engineering (including energy engineering) arbitration over many years but we are uniquely well placed to deal with arbitration which raises issues of competition, regulation or other economic issues. Chambers’ arbitration practice further reflects its Commercial Dispute Resolution expertise, with Members experienced in disputes involving aviation, banking & finance, civil & commercial fraud, JV & shareholder disputes, energy & natural resources, insurance, partnership, shipping & commodities, and sport.

Chambers has been particularly involved, both as counsel and arbitrators, in investment treaty arbitrations, and arbitrations regarding utility regulation, telecommunications and involving Indian, Russian and CIS law.

Barristers at Monckton Chambers are also qualified members of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, and are members or sit on the panels of several leading arbitration institutions, including LCIA, HKIAC, AIAC, AIFC-IAC (Kazakhstan), and ICC.

Our members speak frequently on the subject of international arbitration and have contributed to a number of publications including Arbitration International and a chapter on arbitration in Ward & Smith Competition Law in the UK (2005).