COVID-19: We remain fully operational, though working remotely. Read more »


Monckton Chambers has many specialists in environmental law, who regularly advise and appear before domestic courts and the Community Courts on environmental law issues.  The team is able to build upon our outstanding expertise in EU law to advise clients on the domestic impact of EU environmental legislation.

Members act for private clients and campaign groups, and also regularly act for the Environment Agency, the Department for Environment Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA), Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) and local authorities.

Specific areas of expertise include:

  • Access to environmental information
  • Agriculture and fisheries
  • Contaminated land
  • The Convention on Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora
  • Energy conservation
  • Environmental impact assessments
  • Environmental permits
  • Environmental protection
  • Greenhouse gas emissions trading
  • Habitats and Wild Birds Directive
  • The Kyoto Protocol
  • Integrated pollution prevention and control
  • Pesticides regulation
  • Planning
  • State aid for environmental protection
  • Waste management and landfill
  • Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment Directive

Members of Monckton Chambers have appeared in the Administrative Court, Court of Appeal, Supreme Court and the European courts in a range of environmental law cases.  Several members also regularly appear in the Information Tribunal in cases involving environmental information.

Contact the Clerks


Environment barristers

Tim Ward QC
Call: 1994  | Silk: 2011
Sir Christopher Bellamy QC
Call: 1968  | Silk: 1986
Christopher Vajda QC
Call: 1979  | Silk: 1997
Melanie Hall QC
Call: 1982  | Silk: 2002
Michael Bowsher QC
Call: 1985  | Silk: 2006
Tim Ward QC
Call: 1994  | Silk: 2011
Jon Turner QC
Call: 1988  | Silk: 2006
Kassie Smith QC
Call: 1995  | Silk: 2013
Ian Rogers QC
Call: 1995  | Silk: 2014
George Peretz QC
Call: 1990  | Silk: 2015
Gerry Facenna QC
Call: 2001  | Silk: 2016
Robert Palmer QC
Call: 1998  | Silk: 2019
Alan Bates
Call: 2003
Philip Woolfe
Call: 2004
Ewan West
Call: 2006
Fiona Banks
Call: 2006
Ligia Osepciu
Call: 2008
Imogen Proud
Call: 2015